I have always loved
getting mail, including junk mail, any mail is great. I love opening the
letters and packages addressed to me or not, at home I would open anything. For
some reason the feeling of tearing open that letter that says "To Miss Kelsie
Kreuzburg" and revealing the mystery of what is inside the slim envelope is
exciting. At home to receive my mail it was simple, open my front door, walk
down the driveway, open my mailbox and get the mail. Here at RU it’s a little
more complicated, especially for me. You would think that a nineteen year old
would be able to open a mailbox with a combination, however I cannot. More than
once I have walked out of the mailroom empty handed knowing there is mail in my
box, but I cannot open it. One day, after struggling with my combination for a
while, I asked the girl behind the counter if she could help me with it because
I was obviously doing something wrong. She sent someone out and I read the
three numbers to him. It didn’t work. Again I read the numbers and he still
couldn’t open the box.
“Are you sure those are your numbers?”
“Yeah I have the combination on my phone.”
“Okay. I’ll try again, it’s this box right?”
I thought to myself obviously, I’m not dumb, but I double
checked just to make sure. It wasn’t the box, it was the one below it. I could
feel my face getting red, after one try my box popped open and I received my
mail, finally. I grabbed it and ran out. Since then getting my mail has
improved but only slightly. I can now open my box but after five or six times,
it is sad. I don’t feel too bad because I see some people struggling with
opening the boxes but still I wish that I could open mine. Maybe by second semester I will be able to.

